Posted in Inspiration, Spirituality

Losing Is Gain

ufc.jpg

You don’t have to win to be a winner

As a Religion teacher, I have always thought of explaining the Paschal Mystery of Christ in both Biblical and Theological manners.  I have always tried not to fail in explaining to my students the relevance of the PDR (Passion, Death & Resurrection) in Salvation history and in our life as believers. Yet, I have to admit that though I have thoroughly exhausted my means of  “downward mobility” in order for my students to understand each and every part of this Paschal thing,  part of me feels half-filled. Unsaturated by the Truth that I am holding on.

Come Sunday, April 9, this will open us up to the threshold of the Holies of Holy weeks. And I am again in a sort of dilemma, as to how to make these seven days meaningful and holy! I am again anticipating the Paschal Triduum of which activities are lined up to make this event not just meaningful but to MAKE PRESENT the actual events of Christ’s life.

As we gaze on the cross of Christ we see His Paschal Mystery – a grandiose event! However, my humbled spirit has opened a door that leads me to grasp a wisdom so “ancient so new” that the Paschal Mystery as I always thought of vis a vis Christ’s experience is not a grandiose act or event, rather, a self mastery of the self- it is an act, an event that is made of AGERE CONTRA in order to gain not for my self but for others.

It is my daily, voluntary dying to myself.  A personal choosing over something. Say, in a dinner talk on a topic  I knew by heart, I’d prefer not to dispute only to make myself heard or clarified or that I may stand correct or has made a right decision or has known something (unless with grave reason, of course!) It is paschal in itself when I voluntarily give-up and die to myself and trust in the Lord that in due time-Kairos, it will be revealed as it is or the other will see the wisdom on it.

I have come to see that it is not something outside of me either imposed upon or I am left to embrace it due to given circumstances (well, can be for a time) and  as a consequence I have to choose a disposition that is appropriate.  Well, it can be! However, more than that, is the daily paschal experience- a personal experience of saying No to the self and Yes to something; for some reasons, it may even cause you to “sweat like blood” as Jesus was. AGERE CONTRA.  I always coil in resistance.

I am considering these three things for my self, ah! easy said than done. But its a sure way  to finish lent victorious and an Easter-felt celebration:

  1. From being self-righteous to putting myself in other’s shoes
  2. From being self- made person to “pretend” not to know much in order to build relationship or sees it as opportune time to bond
  3. From being quick to judge to becoming an understanding or discerning person

It is so relieving to know that daily I have a chance to share in Christ experience and redeemption not in exceptional moments but in ordinary events of my life.

I just have to be aware! And Choose!

Have a Holy Days of Week ahead!

 

 

 

image: google images 

Author:

Member of Sisters of St.Paul of Chartres (SPC) Vocation Promotion, Program Coordinator for Catechetical Ministry, Pastoral Worker, Campus Minister, Blogger sometimes, Contributor: Philippine Echoes

Leave a Reply

